I first heard about salt caves when I saw a Groupon for a halotherapy (salt therapy) session at Serenity Salt Cave. I was skeptical about the purported benefits, but I don’t think that is an acceptable reason to avoid a new experience. Halotherapy takes many forms and dates back to at least the twelfth century. The odds are you’ve had some form of salt therapy before, whether it was a epsom salt bath, or a saline inhaler to help with allergies, or perhaps gargling with salt water. 

Salt Cave

The cave (a room in an office building) is filled with 1,200 pounds of Himalayan salt. The walls are lined with giant blocks and the floor is covered with bath salt sized granules. It felt like walking on a rocky pink beach. 

Salt Lamps

I was the only person in my salt therapy session, which was lovely. If you know me, you know how much I value my alone time. I’d do very well on a desert island (except maybe for all that survival stuff). After I got settled the lights dimmed and soft music played overhead. The room was lit by 3 salt lamps, a few lamps on the wall, and flickering starry lights on the ceiling.

Salt cave ceiling

Perhaps it was in my mind, but the air tasted a bit salty. A halo generator kicked on every few minutes which pumped fine particles of salt into the air. Apparently, as the salt is inhaled it is supposed to dry out the sinuses and respiratory tract, clean out your system, and kill bacteria. It is reported to help with allergies, COPD, bronchitis, and other illnesses. 

I’m probably not the ideal candidate because I don’t really have respiratory issues. I didn’t really feel any differently after the session. However, regardless of the effects, I found the session very relaxing. I liked being alone in a quiet beautiful space for 45 minutes. I have another session remaining from the package I bought, so I will be back. I’ll likely bring a friend along next time to get a second opinion.